AIS REGION 2 AWARDS                                                  Judy Tucholski

Region 2 presents four major awards to the exhibits and exhibitors in approved Iris Shows held by the affiliates in our Region.  An additional award is given to a person who has performed distinguished service for the Region and/or the American Iris Society. The history of each gives validation to the awards and to the recipients.

The guidelines for receiving each award are almost a history in themselves.  Most of the awards were created when Region 2 and the Empire State Iris Society were synonymous. For clarification, the Empire State Iris Society (ESIS) was the forerunner of the current AIS Region 2 Affiliate structure. The ESIS Board of Directors turned over these awards to the current AIS Region 2. The organizational change hasnít changed the importance of the awards or of the people who are remembered through the awarding. 

The awards currently presented are:

The Irwin A Conroe Distinguished Service Award

The Ruth V. Blenis Award

The William McGarvey Beardless Iris Award

The Magdalen Award

The Ethel Anson S. Peckham Award for Historic Iris

This report is designed to give a brief history of these awards and clicking on the titles of the awards above will take you to a page giving the history of the award and the recipients.  If any information given needs further clarification, please contact the Region 2 Webmaster.  Judy is trying to make the history of these awards as complete as possible for the Archives.  Acknowledgement is made to all the previous Award and Exhibition Chairs who have compiled this information and kept excellent records.  Most notable of these is Wendy Roller, AIS Master Judge.